Toggle menu

Poppy Banks of Hazelnut Childminding

Ofsted Registered Childminder from St Budeaux, in Plymouth, offering an inclusive space for children to challenge themselves, enjoy learning, make lasting friendships and have fun. 

Contacts details

Name: Poppy Banks
Address:773 Wolseley Road
Telephone number: 07914756744

Welcome to Hazelnut Childminding!

About Me

I am Poppy-Jayne Banks and run Hazelnut Childminding. I live with my husband and daughter. Our daughter was born in 2017. We have a cat called Phoebe, who is mostly outdoors or asleep. We moved from Suffolk to Devon in 2012, where we eventually bought our first house. I love being close to the Moors and the Sea and take full advantage of what is local to us.

I have been working with children for ten years (including motherhood) and have experience with children from 0 to 12. I focused particularly on supporting children in Early Years, those who needed Speech and Language support and additional needs.

At Sixteen I began a YMCA apprenticeship at a nursery in Suffolk called Rhymes LTD. I enjoyed working in before and after school clubs and in the nursery. I was employed after my apprenticeship and stayed with them for a number of years before becoming a Teaching Assistant in Year one specialising in Makaton and EAL(English as an Additional Language). I chose to attend a college for a year to gain further training and while completing my course I became the LGBT and Disability Officer assisting in the promotion of equality and actively participating in all meetings to gain further support services. When my partner and I moved to Devon, I worked for a number of years as a Speech and Language and Special Educational Needs focused Teaching Assistant using my British sign language certificate, Makaton and other courses to support learning.

After the birth of my daughter I decided that childminding would be a wonderful fit for our family. I observed nurseries and childminding settings before choosing a childminder for some of my child's care myself.  I understand the importance of a clear, honest relationship between a parent and the care provider they've selected for their child. Be assured I will always be open and honest with you and will work with you to support your family's journey in a gentle way. I am grateful for my wonderful experience using a childminder and it has encouraged me to develop the style of care I am now offering.

I have annual memberships to National Trust, Garden House and Eden Project. We use these regularly as well as exploring in our large garden and the Nature Reserve we back onto. Children here will spend much of their time learning through nature, loose parts, and open ended resources allowing them the freedom to create ideas for themselves and have a go at a variety of play styles. I am supportive of all parent's choices - here at Hazelnut Childminding I am cloth welcoming, able to sling wear/pram use and breastfeeding/formula friendly. I provide rear-facing car seats, able to rear face until four years old. 


  • Ofsted rating: Unknown

I can accept ME2 Funding and Early Years Funding.

I have a Paediatric First Aid Level 2 certificate, Food safety and hygiene Level 2, Enhanced DBS as well as many other certificates you can view.

Price: I charge £5.00 per hour. Parents are requested to supply a packed lunch and snacks. Breakfast between 7.30am to 8.30am and dinner between 4.30pm and 5.30pm, if your children are in at these times I am happy to serve them these meals at an additional fee.
Based: Plymouth

Hazelnut Childminding is open from 7am until 6pm Tuesday to Saturday, both term time and throughout the school holidays. 

I can offer additional hours at an additional fee.

I can accept ME2 Funding and Early Years Funding

Childcare Type:
  • Childminder
Age ranges:
  • Junior school - 3 to 6 years
  • Nursery - under 5
  • Pre-school - 2 to 4 years
  • Pre-school - 3 to 4 years
  • Primary school - 5 to 11 years
Childcare funding:
  • Three / four year old funded
  • Two year old funded
Registered places: Ofsted Registered in November 2019, due a visit within 12 Months.
School pickups: Plaistow Infant and Nursery School Riverside Community Primary School

My family and I live in a three bedroom semi-detached home backing onto Kinterbury Creek Nature Reserve. We have an enclosed private garden, a separate 'quiet room' for sleep or quiet play and a Summer House filled with role play resources. 

The children will play in the following spaces:

  • Living Room, it is filled with toys and books, available for them throughout the day to engage in craft and be involved in focused play.
  • Dining Room, there is a small world space, painting and drawing activities, and where when eating at home in the Winter, we will share our breakfast, lunch and dinner.
  • Kitchen, this is where baking and cooking will take place as well as some water play.
  • Quiet Room, this is our upstairs room, children may sleep here throughout the day as needed, read a book or play with quiet toys.
  • Garden, the children will spend lots of time, when at home, in our garden where there are ride on bikes and trucks, a sand pit, a Pikler (Small Climbing Frame), a slide, a covered pond with wildlife (1:3 at all times) and swing.
  • Lean to, we will eat our lunches at the outdoor dining table in the summer unless on the grass as a picnic.
  • Summerhouse, holding a play kitchen, lots of play food, recipe books, bowls and an easel with blackboard.
  • I also have various Annual Memberships including National Trust, Garden House and Eden Project
Dietary needs information: Using my Food Safety and Hygiene Level 2 information, I will endeavour to support any child with allergies or intolerance. I will ensure to label food that contains allergens, keep a folder of evidence of the ingredients in the food I supply to the children with the dietary need and ensure the parents feel updated and informed throughout.
Special needs information: I have worked with children and young people 1:1 with varying levels of SEN needs for more than five years. I have certificates in Makaton, British Sign Language, ADHD as well as others. Using my knowledge and experience I will tailor activities to be inclusive to all of the children in my care. This will allow each child to build awareness regarding their differences and similarities with others through play, reading materials and by meeting people in our local community.
Cultural provision information: I ensure the children and young people in my care are engaged with the local community by attending children's centres, local play groups, we also supply reading material in various languages with varied characters and experiences to ensure all children feel welcomed and supported at Hazelnut Childminding.

Back to search

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email